International Journal of Serious Games


The IJSG publishes original papers of significant and lasting value in all areas related to design, development, deployment and assessment of digital Serious Games (SGs). The journal encourages submission of manuscripts that enhance the theoretical foundations of game-based learning and SG design, show innovative technological solutions aimed to improve teaching and learning, and/or provide user studies about deployment of SGs in educational or corporate training settings. Papers investigating business/product analysis and market penetration are welcome as well.

All papers should advance the state of the art in the relevant area. Empirical studies are strongly encouraged. Papers may be one of several types: research paper; tutorial/survey; research note/short paper; software/algorithms; addendum/corrections; datasets.

By publishing high quality scientific and technological papers, the IJSG intends to address the need for scientific and engineering methods for building games as effective learning tools. A successful application of SGs for education and training demands appropriate metrics, analytics, tools, and techniques for in-game user assessment, in order to allow meeting the educational goals, provide proper user feedback and support adaptivity. Appropriate mapping should be defined in order to support translation of pedagogical goals into compelling game experiences.

The IJSG aims at filling this gap, as the world reference scientific publication for supporting SG design and deployment.

Publisher: Serious Games Society
ISSN:  2384-8766
Doi prefix: 10.17083/IJSG 

The seventh IJSG issue (July-September 2015) has been been published online.

Important information for authors


Gala Conf is coming!
Rome, Dec. 9-11, 2015. Reserve your seat!

Vol 2, No 3 (2015)

Table of Contents


Alessandro De Gloria


Skilan A. Ortiz, Clint A. Bowers, Janis A. Cannon-Bowers
Ioannis Doumanis, Serengul Smith
Edward Castronova, Isaac Knowles
Katinka van der Kooij, Evert Hoogendoorn, Renske Spijkerman, Valentijn Visch
Davide Picca, Dominique Jaccard, Gérald Eberlé